Wk 5 – Art Experience – Cuisine, Couture, or Coiffure

This week, I chose to engage in a coiffure art experience. I was very excited to color my hair, as I have been thinking of doing so for awhile. I don’t usually make bold choices that go against my usual comfortable routines, so this project was the perfect opportunity and excuse for me to push myself to make one. My vision for my hair was to dye the ends light pink. However, this turned out to be much more difficult than I’d expected. The first product I bought to color my hair with was a rose-colored semi-permanent hair color.

IMG_6929

The first coloring I tried

However, upon washing the dye out, I discovered that my hair didn’t take the coloring at all. Since I have never dyed my hair before, I didn’t realize that my hair is too dark to take just any lighter dye without bleaching it first. I was disappointed that the dye didn’t work, so after researching dyes that don’t require bleaching online, I went back to the store to find another one. Unfortunately, after going to two different stores I still couldn’t find the non-bleaching dye I was looking for. I considered just bleaching my hair and using the dye I had originally bought, but I decided that I didn’t want to bleach my hair for the first time without going to a hair salon, as I was unsure of exactly how to do it myself and whether it would greatly damage my hair. Thus, I came up with an alternative solution, with help from my mom. After going to a beauty store, she told me she had found liquid hair chalk that would last for a few days and show up brightly in all hair colors and types. I was a bit unsure of whether or not it would look good, but I really wanted colored hair, so I tried it.

Since this coloring was liquid hair chalk, its application was different than that of typical dye. I streaked my hair with the coloring and then dried it after each application. I also decided to color higher up in my hair. When it was done, I was nervous to look and see if it actually worked in my very dark hair. However, I was so happy to see that it had shown up very brightly and very pink. It is still pretty bright in my hair, and I absolutely love it.

 

The day after coloring my hair, I went to Knott’s Berry Farm, which was an exciting place for me to ‘present’ my hair. I really like how the colors in my hair blend together and stand out in a braid, so I wore my hair in a braid again. It was really fun and exciting to wear such a bright color in my hair, and I loved how it looked even brighter in the sun.

 

IMG_2561

I had so much fun with this art experience. I absolutely love having colored hair, and I definitely want to continue experimenting with my hair. I would love to continue using hair chalks in different colors, and to try using dye. Even though the original dye I used didn’t work, I definitely feel that I achieved my goal of coloring my hair pink. After coloring my hair, I realized that coiffure is definitely an art form. It is very fun to experiment with, and the results can be so exciting and beautiful. I love the idea of art that you can wear and integrate into the appearance that you present to the world.

 

Leave a Reply

