Wk 4 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

I had a really fun time creating this week’s art piece. I do not think I have ever used spray paint, and I really enjoyed it. However, it was so much harder than I thought it would be to create art with it. I truly have a newfound appreciation for artists who use spray paint as a medium because it really is difficult to make clean lines with a spray can, even with an outline sketch. Considering that I had difficulty just writing and coloring my name, I cannot imagine how much effort and time one would have to put in to create an entire scene with spray paint. Just thinking about it, and about all the technique, colors, and details that artists put into their pieces really makes me appreciate them that much more. In my piece, I ended up using three colors. Although I was initially only going to use blue and green in my piece, I found that I was muddling the colors together because I had so much difficulty making clean lines. I decided to also use white in order to outline some parts of the letters, as I hoped it would make them pop. I thought all the colors I used were very complimentary of each other. I really love light, pastel colors and I was happy that I could use them to make an art piece of my name. I spray painted on a piece of wood, which I felt made the colors stand out. When I was finished, I ended being really happy with my piece. It is definitely not amazing, but I put a lot of effort into it, had a lot of fun making it, and I love the colors!

IMG_6778IMG_6770IMG_6777IMG_6772

 

Leave a Reply

